六月 30, 2016

一位中国银行职员准备计算美国的堆栈的堆在一起美元 100 中国元纸币在合肥一家银行, 皖, 在三月 9, 2010. (STR / AFP / Getty图像)一位中国银行职员准备计算美国的堆栈的堆在一起美元 100 中国元纸币在合肥一家银行, 皖, 在三月 9, 2010. (STR / AFP / Getty图像)

有一件事是肯定的, 该 中国元 刚度过记录最大的跌幅自上次货币不断 1994. 失去了元 2.9 人民币兑美元%,自三月底到 6.64 六月 30.

另一种肯定的事: Brexit没有帮助由于人民币在周一的单日历史表决后贬值近1%. 这就是确定性结束和投机和混乱开始.

中国人民币的性能 (彭博社)

中国人民币的性能 (彭博社)

这是猜测,中国使用Brexit的封面,以缓解从再度承压 资本外流, 这消退掉,以 $20-$30 每十亿个月后 $100+ 十亿运行率前两月的一年. 该 1 周一下降了百分之了接近货币至六年内低点,并可能已经做到这一点的好机会, 因为其他人都在看,欧洲市场是如何反应的Brexit. 之前, 中国的货币一直独霸以来的第一个惊喜贬值的头条新闻和全球市场在去年八月的任何大幅贬值并没有收到很好.

另一方面, 交易商可能只是采取了一些避险的表,因为波动性在全球秒杀. 另一个迹象表明,中国的货币将很快进入避风港的地位任何时候.

在政策方面, 事情更加混乱. 尽管大幅下跌和波动性相对, 中国官方报纸 希望世界相信,有对货币没有压力. “虽然人民币的中点兑中美. 美元连续数天, 在这两个在岸和离岸市场的情绪,没有恐慌抛售的迹象或外币争相基本稳定,“上海证券报报道, 援引行业专家的话说.

恐慌性抛售是一个模糊的术语,可能更适用于英镑, 但在岸和离岸人民币市场的稳定,也看起来不一样.

虽然政权最大化稳定性, 它不介意 路透社报价 其他政府经济学家在本周晚些时候谁主张央行乐于看到人民币的速率 6.8 每美元. “央行愿意看到人民币贬值, 只要贬值预期得到控制,“路透社援引来源不明.

这个地方开始把事情控制: 经济学家不明.

在这里阅读完整的文章

A Chinese bank worker prepares to count a stack of US dollars together with stacks of 100 Chinese yuan notes at a bank in Hefei, Anhui Province, on March 9, 2010. (STR/AFP/Getty Images)A Chinese bank worker prepares to count a stack of US dollars together with stacks of 100 Chinese yuan notes at a bank in Hefei, Anhui Province, on March 9, 2010. (STR/AFP/Getty Images)

One thing is for sure, the Chinese yuan just had its worst drop on record ever since the last currency in 1994. The yuan lost 2.9 percent against the dollar since the end of March to 6.64 on June 30. 

Another sure thing: Brexit didn’t help as the yuan devalued almost one percent in a single day on the Monday after the historic vote. This is where the certainties end and where speculation and confusion starts.

Performance of the Chinese yuan (Bloomberg)

Performance of the Chinese yuan (Bloomberg)

It is speculation that China used the cover of Brexit to ease renewed pressure from capital outflows, which ebbed off to $20-$30 billion per month after $100+ billion run-rates in the first two months of the year. The 1 percent drop on Monday took the currency close to six year lows and could have been a welcome opportunity to do this, as everybody else was watching how markets in Europe reacted to the Brexit. Before, China’s currency has been dominating headlines and global markets since the first surprise devaluation in August of last year and any sharp devaluation was not received well.  

On the other hand, traders could have just taken some risk off the table because of the global spike in volatility. Another indication that the Chinese currency will enter the safe haven status anytime soon. 

On the policy side, things are even more confusing. Despite the steep drop and relative volatility, Chinese state newspapers want the world to believe that there is no pressure on the currency. “Although the yuan’s mid-point fell against the U.S. dollar on consecutive days, the mood in both on-shore and off-shore markets is basically stable with no signs of panic-selling or a scramble for foreign currencies,” the Shanghai Securities News reported, citing industry experts as saying.

Panic selling is a vague term and may be more applicable to the British pound, but stability in the onshore and offshore yuan markets also looks different. 

Although the regime is maximizing for stability, it doesn’t mind that Reuters quotes other government economists later in the week who claim the central bank would be happy to see the yuan at a rate of 6.8 per dollar. “The central bank is willing to see yuan depreciation, as long as depreciation expectations are under control,” Reuters cites unidentified sources.

The place to start getting things control: Unidentified economists.   

Read the full article here